Society of Fellows


SOF News December 2013

James Wines, Indeterminate Facade Building, Houston, Texas, 1974
Adele Chatfield-Taylor and Wayne Linker cut the ribbon to the newly restored Academy while Michael Sovern and Caroline Bruzelius look on, 1994
Maira Kalman, Well, Susan, 2004-2005
Photo: Julie Saul Gallery
Gretchen Kromer, from Ninfa in Winter
1 of 4

James Wines wins Lifetime Achievement Award in Design, Adele Chatfield-Taylor ends her term as Academy president this month, Maira Kalman, Gretchen Kromer, Ron Dirsmith, and more.

Founder and President of the iconic architectural firm SITE and rogue sculptor James Wines, FAAR'57 has been awarded the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum. This award is given "in recognition of a distinguished individual who has made a profound and long-term contribution to the contemporary practice of design." 

Adele Chatfield-Taylor, FAAR'84 will step down at the end of December after 25 years as president of the Academy. Her many honors include the 12th Vincent Scully Prize awarded by the National Building Museum in Washington, DC.

View The Staff Meal at the American Academy in Rome, a charming meditation on food and the Academy by Rome-born film director Alex Infascelli.

Strunk and White's The Elements of Style illustrated by Maira Kalman, AFAAR'12 is available in both hardbound and paperback versions.

Gretchen Kromer, FAAR'73 has a new book, Ninfa in Winter, a collection of black and white photographs of the garden and its surrounding area with brief text.

Lascaux, Rome, Terracina, Time, Diderdot. See videos of the work of architect Ron Dirsmith, FAAR'60.