The Director of the American Academy in Rome invites distinguished artists and scholars from around the world to reside at the Academy for periods generally ranging from one to three months. Invitations are extended to senior artists and scholars of international standing in the following disciplines: architecture; design; historic preservation and conservation; landscape architecture; literature; musical composition; visual arts; ancient studies; medieval studies; Renaissance and early modern studies; and modern Italian studies.

During their stay, Residents serve as senior advisors to Rome Prize recipients and to other members of the Academy community, and are expected to offer a minimum of one Academy-wide event in their area of expertise: a concert, an exhibition or studio visit, a lecture, a reading, or an instructional walk in Rome. In general Invitational Residencies are for senior figures in their fields, and are by invitation only.

2017–18 Residents

Writer in Residence
Ayad Akhtar
New York, NY

22 January to 19 February 2018

Roy Lichtenstein Artist in Residence
Yto Barrada
Tangier, Morocco

8 September to 30 October 2017

Colin Rowe Designer in Residence
Irma Boom
Irma Boom Office
Amsterdam, Netherlands

8 January to 26 February

Rea S. Hederman Critic in Residence
Corinna Da Fonseca-Wollheim
New York, NY

26 February to 26 March 2017

Writer in Residence
Don DeLillo
New York, NY

11 December to 25 December 2017

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence
Jeanne Gang, FAIA
Founder and Principal
Studio Gang Architects
Chicago, IL

18 September to 13 November 2017

Deenie Yudell Resident in the Visual Arts
Teresita Fernández
New York, NY

14 May to 16 July 2018

Mercedes T. Bass Landscape Architect in Residence
Gary Hilderbrand, FAAR’95, FASLA
Founder & Principal, Reed Hilderbrand LLC
Professor in Practice, Harvard Graduate School of Design
Cambridge, MA

18 September to 13 November 2017

Lester K. Little Resident in Medieval Studies
William Chester Jordan
Dayton-Stockton Professor of History
Department of History
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ

18 September to 16 October 2017

William B. Hart Poet in Residence
Yusef Komunyakaa
Professor, Creative Writing Program
Department of English
New York University
New York, NY

18 September to 6 November 2017

Lucy Shoe Meritt Scholar in Residence
Melissa Lane
Class of 1943 Professor of Politics
Director, University Center for Human Values (UCHV)

Department of Politics
Princeton University

Princeton, NJ
11 June to 27 July 2018

Paul Fromm Composer in Residence
Nico Muhly
New York, NY

26 February to 9 April 2018

James S. Ackerman Scholar in Residence
Richard Powell
John Spencer Bassett Professor of Art and Art History, in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Art, Art History, and Visual Studies
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina

18 September to 13 November 2017

Louis Kahn Scholar in Residence
Nasser Rabbat
Professor and Director of the MIT Aga Khan Program
Department of Architecture
Massachusetts Institute of Techonology
Cambridge, MA

11 December 2017 to 5 February 2018

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence
Annabelle Selldorf, FAIA
Founder and Principal
Selldorf Architects
New York, NY

16 to 30 October 2017, 12 to 25 February 2018, and 16 to 30 April 2018

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence
Nader Tehrani
Dean, The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture
The Cooper Union
Founder & Principal

20 November 2017 to 15 January 2018