Seven Fellows Awarded 2024 Guggenheim Fellowships

Color photo of light skinned woman with dark hair holding a flotaki rug that has been burned and dyed
Anna Betbeze outside her Academy studio in 2014

On April 11, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation announced the winners of 188 Guggenheim Fellowships across 52 disciplines to pursue independent work under “the freest possible conditions.” Of the awardees, seven are Fellows of the American Academy in Rome.

AAR winners by category:


Andrew Riggsby (2011 Fellow)


Jamel Brinkley (2023 Fellow)
Kirstin Valdez Quade (2019 Fellow)


Garrett Bradley (2020 Fellow)

Fine Arts

Anna Betbeze (2014 Fellow)
Mike Cloud (2024 Fellow)


Robyn Schiff (2023 Fellow)

Since 1925, 627 Guggenheim Fellowships have been awarded to Fellows, Residents, or Affiliated Fellows of the American Academy in Rome. We congratulate all of this year’s recipients!

Press inquiries

Andrew Mitchell

Director of Communications

212-751-7200, ext. 342

a.mitchell [at] (a[dot]mitchell[at]aarome[dot]org)

Maddalena Bonicelli

Rome Press Officer

+39 335 6857707

m.bonicelli.ext [at] (m[dot]bonicelli[dot]ext[at]aarome[dot]org)