AAR Announces Residents for Fall/Winter 2023

Black and white photograph of a facade of a Beaux-Art building and its front gates
The façade of the American Academy in Rome, 1994 (photograph by Ian Knaggs)

The American Academy in Rome today announced its slate of Residents for fall and winter 2023. Joining AAR as Residents this season are:

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence
Stephen Cassell
Principal, Architecture Research Office, Brooklyn

Mary Miss Resident in Visual Art
Mel Chin
Artist, Burnsville, North Carolina

Lester K. Little Resident in Medieval Studies 
Jaś Elsner
Humfry Payne Senior Research Fellow in Classical Archaeology and Art, Corpus Christi College, Oxford University; and Visiting Professor of Art and Religion, Divinity School and the History of Art Department, University of Chicago

Deenie Yudell Resident in the Visual Arts 
Arturo Herrera
Artist, New York and Berlin

William B. Hart Poet in Residence 
Claudia Rankine
Poet, New York

William A. Bernoudy Architects in Residence 
Mack Scogin and Merrill Elam
Principals, Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects, Atlanta

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence 
Adam Yarinsky
Principal, Architecture Research Office, Brooklyn

“Each year the Academy invites some of the most distinguished artists and scholars working today to come as Residents, where they join Rome Prize Fellows and Italian Fellows and contribute to the Academy’s vigorous intellectual exchange,” said Peter Miller, AAR President. “I’m pleased to announce this year’s fall and winter Residents, who inspire us with their art and illuminate our understanding of the world with ideas that trespass across the borders of disciplines.”

As part of the Resident program, artists and scholars of international standing live and work at the Academy for periods ranging from one to three months. During their stay, Residents serve as informal advisors and mentors to Rome Prize recipients and other community members, and often participate in public programming.

Recent AAR Residents have included artists Yto Barrada, Teresita Fernández, William Kentridge, Amy Sillman, and Theaster Gates; architects Annabelle Selldorf and Jeanne Gang; writers Natasha Trethewey, Ayad Akhtar, and André Aciman; scholars Ruth Ben-Ghiat, Mary Beard, Danielle Allen, and Teo Ruiz; and many more.

Press inquiries

Andrew Mitchell

Director of Communications

212-751-7200, ext. 342

a.mitchell [at] aarome.org (a[dot]mitchell[at]aarome[dot]org)

Maddalena Bonicelli

Rome Press Officer

+39 335 6857707

m.bonicelli.ext [at] aarome.org (m[dot]bonicelli[dot]ext[at]aarome[dot]org)