New York Gala 2023

Raccolta di Fondi

New York Gala 2023

Graphic design element with these silver words on a black background: Peter N. Miller, president, Slobodan Randjelović, Gala Chair, H. E. Mariangela Zappia, Honorary Chair, American Academy in Rome, New York Gala, Thursday, November 2, 2023, 6:30pm, The Altman Building, 135 West 18th Street, New York City, Honoring Agnes Gund, Sir Isaac Julien, 2016 Resident, Mark Robbins, 1997 Fellow, former President, American Academy in Rome

American Academy in Rome 
2023 New York Gala 
Thursday, November 2 
Cocktails at 6:30pm, dinner at 8:00pm 
The Altman Building

Slobodan Randjelović, Gala Chair 
H. E. Mariangela Zappia Ambassador of Italy to the United States, Honorary Chair

Laurie Anderson (2006 Resident), a writer, director, composer, visual artist, musician, and vocalist who has created groundbreaking works that span the worlds of art, theater, experimental music, and technology, performed at the 2023 New York Gala.

The honorees this year were:

  • Agnes Gund, philanthropist, art collector, and social-justice advocate
  • Sir Isaac Julien, filmmaker, installation artist, and 2016 Resident
  • Mark Robbins, former President of the American Academy in Rome and 1997 Fellow

The evening featured a tribute to our extraordinary honorees, a silent auction, a live performance by Laurie Anderson (2006 Resident), and dancing at the after party.

Proceeds support the Academy, which provides time and space for the world’s best thinkers, scholars, and artists to create and imagine the future.


New York Gala Host Committee

Ecetra and Anthony Ames, FAAR’84 
Suzanne Deal Booth 
Katie and Jim Brennan 
Diane Britz Lotti 
Will Bruder, FAAR’87, FAIA and Louise Roman 
Mary Burnham 
Bill and Anna Cameron 
Marilynn Davis 
Sharon Davis 
Cary Davis and John McGinn 
E. V. Day, FAAR’17 and Ted Lee 
Aashish and Dinny Devitre 
Merrill Elam and Mack Scogin 
William H. Fain, Jr., FAAR’02 
Mary and Howard S. Frank 
Jeanne Gang, FAIA, RAAR’16,’18 
Frank O. Gehry and Associates, Inc. 
Agnes Gund 
Caroline Hyman 
Suzanne Bocanegra, FAAR’91 and David Lang, FAAR’91, RAAR’17 
Sarah Lewis 
Glenn Ligon 
Nancy Lorenz and Doug Schwalbe 
Low Road Foundation 
Michael Manfredi, RAAR’19 and Marion Weiss, RAAR’19 
Dr. Peggy McEvoy 
The John P. and Anne Welsh McNulty Foundation 
Cav Simon Mordant AO and Catriona Mordant AM 
Caroline Mortimer 
Alexandra Munroe 
Drs. Eric Lindgren and Ili Nagy 
Susan Conway Oliphant and Patrick Oliphant, RAAR’13 
Jeannie and Thomas Phifer FAAR’96 
Bill Press 
Michael C. J. Putnam/Kenneth Gaulin 
Slobodan Randjelović and Jon Stryker 
Katharine Rayner 
Anna Marie and Robert F. Shapiro 
Jessica Silverman 
Michael Straus 
Loran and Meera Thompson 
Thayer Tolles, AFAAR’22 and Theodore O. Rogers, Jr. 
Calvin Tsao, RAAR’10 
Beatrice Ughi Frankel 
Darren Walker 
Sydney Houghton Weinberg  
Tod C. Williams, FAAR’83 
Fred Wilson 
Kathy and Penn Wyrough

List as of August 21, 2023.

Giorno e ora
giovedì 2 novembre 2023
Altman Building
135 West 18th Street
New York, NY
Stati Uniti