2018 New York Fall Gala

November 20, 2018
Trustee Sharon Davis (left), President Mark Robbins, and 2006 Fellow Carrie Mae Weems (photo by Christine Butler)
From left: Gala Co-Chairs Calvin Tsao and Alessia Antinori, President Mark Robbins, Board Chair Mary Margaret Jones, Honoree Robert De Niro, Trustee Robert Storr, and Director John Ochsendorf (photo by Christine Butler)
John Shapiro and Board Chair Mary Margaret Jones (photo by Christine Butler)
From left: 2018 Fellow Sanford Biggers, 2006 Fellow Carrie Mae Weems, Mark Robbins, Billie Tsien, a guest, and Lyle Ashton Harris (photo by Christine Butler)
Trustee David Lang and 1991 Fellow Suzanne Bocanegra (photo by Christine Butler)
John Novograd (left) with Trustees Nancy Novogrod and Jim Brennan (photo by Christine Butler)
From left: Wendy Evans Joseph, Trustee Tod Williams, Karen Stein, Zack McKown, Billie Tsien, and guest (photo by Christine Butler)
Dana Prescott and 2013 Fellow Carl D’Alvia (photo by Christine Butler)
Fellows Allen Frame, Rochelle Feinstein, and Pamela Hovland (photo by Christine Butler)
LeMel Humes and Suzanne Deal Booth (photo by Christine Butler)
Trustees William B. McGurn III (left) and John R. Phillips with Catherine McGurn (photo by Christine Butler)
Trustee Brian Rose and 1986 Fellow Louise Rice (photo by Christine Butler)
2018 Fellows Jessica Gabriel Peritz (left), Lauren Donovan Ginsberg, and Jonathan A. Scelsa (photo by Christine Butler)
Blythe Alison Mayne with Trustee Thom Mayne (photo by Christine Butler)
Dinner in the President’s Ballroom at the Metropolitan Club (photo by Christine Butler)
Charles Price (left), Trustee Jessie Price, and Wendy Evans Joseph (photo by Christine Butler)
2008 Fellow Molissa Fenley (left), former AAR President Adele Chatfield-Taylor, and Trustee John Phillips (photo by Christine Butler)
From left: 2018 Fellows Cecile Fromont, Sanford Biggers, Lauren Donovan Ginsberg, Alison B. Hirsch, Liz Ševčenko, Rosetta Elkin, and Suzanne Farrin (photo by Christine Butler)
Fellows Senam Okudzeto, Beverly McIver, and Abigail DeVille (photo by Christine Butler)
Outgoing Board Chair Mary Margaret Jones and incoming Board Chair Cary Davis (photo by Christine Butler)
2006 Fellow Carrie Mae Weems and Trustee Adam Weinberg (photo by Christine Butler)
President Mark Robbins salutes outgoing Board Chair Mary Margaret Jones (photograph by Christine Butler)
Director John Ochsendorf addresses Gala attendees (photo by Christine Butler)
Trustee Robert Storr introduces Honoree Robert De Niro (photo by Christine Butler)
Robert De Niro accepts the Centennial Medal (photo by Christine Butler)
Gala Co-Chairs and Trustees Calvin Tsao and Alessia Antinori (photo by Christine Butler)
1 of 26

At the American Academy in Rome’s Fall Gala, nearly 300 guests gathered at the Metropolitan Club to honor the cultural achievements of iconic actor, director, and producer Robert De Niro, and to celebrate returning 2018 Rome Prize Fellows. Luminaries from the worlds of art, fashion, film, business, and politics enjoyed cocktails in the President’s Foyer and the J. P. Morgan Room, followed by dinner in the President’s Ballroom.

Dinner guests were welcomed by Academy President Mark Robbins and Board Chair Mary Margaret Jones, whose term ends in December. AAR Director John Ochsendorf shared several magical moments from Rome that illustrate the vibrant and varied richness of the Academy. This served as a perfect lead-in to a short film, created by Gael Towey & Co. and Doyle Partners (with music provided by 2017 Fellow Jonathan Berger), in which several Fellows discussed the impact of the Rome Prize on their work.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Centennial Medal to Robert De Niro by artist, critic, professor, and AAR Trustee Robert Storr, who recently retired as Dean of the Yale University School of Art. Mr. De Niro joked that he immediately agreed to be honored, thinking the event was held in Rome. Nevertheless, he was very thankful for the the Academy’s mission of supporting artists and scholars and brought the room to a standing ovation with an impassioned plea to support the arts and the sanctity of truth. Gala Co-Chairs and Trustees Alessia Antinori and Calvin Tsao closed out the evening, inviting guests to a dessert buffet and dancing in the J. P. Morgan Room. It was a fun and festive evening for the Academy’s largest annual U.S. fundraiser.