Announcing the 2021–22 Rome Prize Winners and Italian Fellows

Rome Prize Winners 2
Rome Prize Winners 1
Rome Prize Winners 3

The American Academy in Rome has announced the winners of the 2021–22 Rome Prize and Italian Fellowships. These highly competitive fellowships support advanced independent work and research in the arts and humanities. This year, the gift of “time and space to think and work” was awarded to thirty-five American and five Italian artists and scholars. They will each receive a stipend, workspace, and room and board at the Academy’s eleven-acre campus in Rome, starting in September 2021.

The Rome Prize and Italian Fellowship winners were presented virtually during the annual Arthur and Janet C. Ross Rome Prize Ceremony, via Zoom. The event also featured a Conversations/Conversazioni between acclaimed architect Sir David Adjaye OBE (2016 Resident) and AAR Director Avinoam Shalem (2016 Resident), with a special introduction by Andrew Heiskell Arts Director Elizabeth Rodini. The video is available on the Academy’s YouTube channel.

“We welcome these Rome Prize winners and Italian Fellows who enter an increasingly global and diverse residential community, reflecting the complexity of US culture abroad,” said AAR President Mark Robbins (1997 Fellow). “The support for these scholars, artists, writers, composers, and designers strengthens the arts and humanities at a time when this is ever more critical.”
Rome Prize winners are selected annually by independent juries of distinguished artists and scholars through a national competition. The eleven disciplines supported by the Academy include: ancient studies, architecture, design, historic preservation and conservation, landscape architecture, literature, medieval studies, modern Italian studies, music composition, Renaissance and early modern studies, and visual arts.

Nationwide, the Rome Prize Competition received 874 applications, representing 46 US states and 22 different countries. This group of Rome Prize winners is one of the most diverse in the Academy’s history. Approximately 44 percent of the winners identify as BIPOC, and 62.5 percent are women, representing a new high for each demographic, respectively. Ages of the incoming group range from 27 to 74, with an average age of 43.

In addition to the Rome Prize winners, the Academy announced the recipients of five Italian Fellowships, through which Italian artists and scholars live and work in the Academy community, pursuing their own projects in a collaborative, interdisciplinary environment with their American counterparts. The Italian Fellows are also selected through a national jury process.

A full list of the 2021–22 Rome Prize winners and Italian Fellows, as well as the international jurors who selected them, can be downloaded here.

Ancient Studies

Sasha-Mae Eccleston
National Endowment for the Humanities/Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Rome Prize

Kevin Ennis
Samuel H. Kress Foundation/Helen M. Woodruff-Archaeological Institute of America Rome Prize

Grace Funsten
Emeline Hill Richardson/Arthur Ross Rome Prize

John Izzo
Millicent Mercer Johnsen Rome Prize

Adriana Maria Vazquez
Andrew Heiskell/Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Rome Prize


Germane Barnes
Rome Prize in Architecture

Mireille Roddier and Keith Mitnick
Arnold W. Brunner/Frances Barker Tracy/Katherine Edwards Gordon Rome Prize


Mary Ellen Carroll
Cynthia Hazen Polsky and Leon Polsky Rome Prize

Jennifer Pastore
Mark Hampton/Jesse Howard Jr. Rome Prize

Historic Preservation and Conservation

Carol Mancusi-Ungaro
Suzanne Deal Booth Rome Prize

Sarah Nunberg
Adele Chatfield-Taylor Rome Prize

Ellen Pearlstein
Suzanne Deal Booth Rome Prize

Landscape Architecture

Michael Lee
Prince Charitable Trusts/Kate Lancaster Brewster Rome Prize

Phoebe Lickwar
Garden Club of America Rome Prize


Jessica Hagedorn
John Guare Writers Fund Rome Prize, a Gift of Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman

Robin Coste Lewis
Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize, a Gift of the Drue Heinz Trust

Valzhyna Mort
Rome Prize in Literature

Medieval Studies

Erene Rafik Morcos
Samuel H. Kress Foundation/Donald and Maria Cox Rome Prize

Randall Todd Pippenger
Paul Mellon/Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Rome Prize

Modern Italian Studies

Mary Jane Dempsey
Rome Prize in Modern Italian Studies

Elena Past
Rome Prize in Modern Italian Studies

SA Smythe
Rome Prize in Modern Italian Studies

Musical Composition

Igor Santos
Samuel Barber Rome Prize

Tina Tallon
Frederic A. Juilliard/Walter Damrosch Rome Prize

Renaissance and Early Modern Studies

Lillian Datchev
Marian and Andrew Heiskell/Anthony M. Clark Rome Prize

Eugenio Refini
National Endowment for the Humanities Rome Prize

Visual Arts

Firelei Báez
Phillip Guston Rome Prize

Autumn Knight
Nancy B. Negley Rome Prize

Eric N. Mack
Phillip Guston Rome Prize

Daniel Joseph Martinez
Abigail Cohen Rome Prize

La Nietas de Nonó (Mapenzi Chibale Nonó and Mulowayi Iyaye Nonó)
Rome Prize in Visual Art

William Villalongo
Jules Guerin/Harold M. English Rome Prize

Terra Foundation Fellow

Julia A. Sienkewicz

Italian Fellows

Alessio Battistella
Enel Foundation Italian Fellow in Architecture, Urban Design, and Landscape Architecture

Manuele Cerutti
Fondazione Sviluppo e Crescita CRT Italian Fellow in Visual Arts

Beatrice Falcucci
Franco Zeffirelli Italian Fellow in Modern Italian Studies

Valerio Morabito
Enel Foundation Italian Fellow in Architecture, Urban Design, and Landscape Architecture

Rosa Sessa
Italian Fellow in Modern Italian Studies

Watch the Video

Press inquiries

Andrew Mitchell

Director of Communications

212-751-7200, ext. 342

a.mitchell [at] (a[dot]mitchell[at]aarome[dot]org)

Maddalena Bonicelli

Rome Press Officer

+39 335 6857707

m.bonicelli.ext [at] (m[dot]bonicelli[dot]ext[at]aarome[dot]org)