McKim Medal Gala

Support - McKim Medal Gala - 2021

2021 Gala

The American Academy in Rome honors Cecilia Alemani and Matteo Garrone at this year’s McKim Medal Gala.

Please note that the 2021 McKim Medal Gala has been rescheduled to September. (Exact date to be confirmed; please stay tuned for further updates).

7:30 PM
Villa Aurelia
Largo di Porta San Pancrazio, 1
00153 Rome

One of the highest-profile cultural events of the social calendar in Rome, the annual McKim Medal Gala honors individuals whose work internationally, most particularly in Italy and in the United States, has contributed significantly to the arts and humanities, and whose life exemplifies creative and intellectual exchange across the arts, scholarship, language, and culture.

Proceeds from the evening support Academy programs and American, Italian, and international artists and scholars, providing them with important opportunities to pursue their individual studies, to participate in and contribute to international discourse in their fields and disciplines, and to gain experience that will be invaluable throughout their careers.

For more information, please contact Wendy Fisher at w.fisher [at] or 212-751-7200, ext. 352, or Inga Clausing at i.clausing [at]


Cecilia Alemani, Artistic Director of the 59th Venice Biennale and Donald R. Mullen, Jr. Director and Chief Curator of High Line Art

Matteo Garrone, Director, Writer, and Producer


Gala Chair

Maria Teresa Venturini Fendi

Honorary Gala Chair

Ginerva Elkann Gaetani

Founding Gala Chair

Verdella Caracciolo De Benedictis

Dinner Committee

Alessia Antinori
Mercedes T. Bass
Cynthia Beck
Thomas Blount
Beatrice Bulgari
Marella Caracciolo Chia
Laura Cibrario Franzan
Inga Clausing
Noemia d’Amico
Suzanne Deal Booth
Delfina Delettrez Fendi
Elena Di Giovanni
Andrea Donzelli
Paola Gaetani d’Aragona
Francesco Gianni
Valeria Giuliani
Eugenio Grippo
Pepi Marchetti Franchi
Margherita Marenghi Vaselli
Alessia Margiotta Broglio
Nancy Novogrod
Martine Orsini
Diamara Parodi Delfino
Mirella Petteni Haggiag
Diana Picasso
Ines Torlonia Theodoli Clarke
Soledad Twombly
Osanna Visconti di Modrone
Mafalda von Hessen
Elisabeth von Thurn und Taxis

Past Galas

Learn more about past Academy benefits, including the McKim Medal Gala, the New York Gala, and the Cabarets.