A virtual benefit
and online auction
October 27, 2020
7:30 PM Eastern

Dame Mary Beard

Classicist and 2019 Resident

Mary Beard is professor of classics at the University of Cambridge, a fellow of Newnham College, and Royal Academy of Arts professor of ancient literature. Since 1992 she has been the classics editor of the Times Literary Supplement, where she also writes a regular blog, A Don’s Life. Her frequent media appearances and sometimes controversial public statements have led to her being described as “Britain’s best-known classicist.”

Photograph by Debra Hurford Brown

Beard is the author of eighteen books on society and culture in the ancient world, including Women and Power: A Manifesto (2017), The Roman Triumph (2007), and The Parthenon (2002). Her 2018 book How Do We Look: The Body, the Divine, and the Question of Civilization looks beyond the familiar canon of Western imagery to explore the history of art, religion, and humanity from prehistoric Mexico to modern Istanbul. The book contains text and images that complement her episodes in Civilisations, the epic BBC and PBS documentary television series that premiered earlier this year.

Photograph by Debra Hurford Brown

Theaster Gates

Artist and 2020 Resident

Theaster Gates has developed an expanded artistic practice that includes space development, object making, performance, and critical engagement with many publics. He transforms spaces, institutions, traditions, and perceptions.

Gates’s training as an urban planner and sculptor, and subsequent time spent studying clay, has given him keen awareness of the poetics of production and systems of organizing. Playing with these poetic and systematic interests, Gates has assembled gospel choirs, formed temporary unions, and used systems of mass production as a way of underscoring the need that industry has for the body.

Photograph by Debra Hurford Brown

Gates is a professor at the University of Chicago in the Department of Visual Arts. He also serves as senior advisor for cultural innovation and advisor to the dean. Gates is director of artists initiatives at the Lunder Institute for American Art at the Colby College Museum of Art and was the 2018–19 artist-in-residence at the Getty Research Institute.

Photograph by Palais de Toyko

Online Benefit Auction

Live from October 14 to 28, 2020

Bid to Support Art and Scholarship

AAR presents its first online auction featuring artworks and one-of-a-kind experiences offering inside access to the fascinating work of the Academy’s Fellows and Residents in the arts and humanities.

Bid on artworks and experiences from:

Alessia Antinori

Polly Apfelbaum (2013 Fellow)

Mary Beard (2019 Resident)

Sanford Biggers (2018 Fellow)

Patricia Cronin (2007 Fellow)

Carl D’Alvia (2013 Fellow)

E. V. Day (2017 Fellow)

Allen Frame (2018 Fellow)

Stephen Greenblatt (2010 Resident)

Ann Hamilton (2017 Resident)

Lyle Ashton Harris (2001 Fellow)

Bunny Harvey (1976 Fellow)

Michelle Hobart

Deborah Kass

Sze Tsung Nicolás Leong (2019 Fellow)

Beverly McIver (2018 Fellow)

Glendalys Medina (2013 Fellow)

Susan Meiselas (2017 Resident)

Sarah Oppenheimer (2011 Fellow)

Gregg Pasquarelli/SHoP Architects

Kyle Pierce (RSFP Chef)

Mark Robbins (1997 Fellow)

Jackie Saccoccio (2005 Fellow)

Yasmin Vobis (2017 Fellow)

Auction powered by:

American Academy in Rome on Artsy

Your support of One Moment/Infinite Ideas provides essential support for the American Academy in Rome, which has fueled the critical thinking, research, and creative endeavor of countless individuals, including 1,800 Rome Prize Fellows.

Support Now

Your support of One Moment / Infinite Ideas provides essential support for the American Academy in Rome, which has fueled the critical thinking, research, and creative endeavor of countless individuals, including 1,800 Rome Prize Fellows.

Gala Co-Chairs

Slobodan Randjelović

Calvin Tsao (2010 Resident)

Honorary Chairs

Mary E. Frank

John F. W. Rogers

His Excellency Armando Varricchio, Ambassador of Italy to the United States

Host Committee

Cynthia and Ron Beck

Suzanne Bocanegra (1991 Fellow) and David Lang (1991 Fellow, 2017 Resident)

Mr. and Mrs. Livio Borghese

Jim and Katie Brennan

Martin Brody (2002 Resident)

Will Bruder (1987 Fellow, FAIA) and Louise Roman

William M. Cameron

Cary Davis and John McGinn

Sharon Davis

Jennifer and William H. Fain Jr. (2002 Fellow)

Frederick B. Fisher (2008 Fellow) and Jennifer M. Prebor

Mary and Howard S. Frank

Stephen Greenblatt (2010 Resident)

Agnes Gund

Bunny Harvey (1976 Fellow)

Michelle Hobart

Bruce Horten and Aaron Lieber

Mary Margaret Jones (1998 Fellow) and Doug Argue (1998 Fellow)

Susan and David Kertzer (2000 Resident)

Eric Lindgren and Ili Nagy (1986 Fellow, 2009 Resident)

Elizabeth McGowan and Guy M. Hedreen (1994 Fellow)

John P. and Anne Welsh McNulty Foundation

Nancy and John Novogrod

Jeannie and Thomas Phifer (1996 Fellow)

Cyntha Hazen Polsky and Leon Polsky

Slobodan Randjelović and Jon Stryker

Mark Robbins (1997 Fellow)

John F. W. Rogers

Janet C. Ross

Pat Sapinsley

Jon Michael Schwarting (1970 Fellow) and Frances Campani

Gael Towey and Stephen Doyle

Calvin Tsao (2010 Resident), Zack McKown, and David Poma

Billie Tsien (2000 Resident) and Tod C. Williams (1983 Fellow)

Suzy and Sadek Wahba

Sydney H. Weinberg

Adam D. Weinberg (2020 Resident)

Leah and Michael Weisberg

Marion Weiss (2019 Resident) and Michael A. Manfredi (2019 Resident)

Fred Wilson (2020 Resident) and Whitfield Lovell (2019 Resident)